Pareto Efficient

In search of pareto improvements

Day #9: Time to Cooperate

with 2 comments

I’ve spent the day working at Luxury Computers of Gulu and hanging out at Kope Cafe – talking to the random muzungus that cycle through.  After an hour of talking with different people about their organization, mission, next steps, blah, blah, I realized something.  Many of these groups are doing almost the same thing and they don’t cooperate at all.

If I’m starting a company, then I have to know my space.  Who’s in it, how am I different, can we partner.  If I don’t know this, then my company will likely fail.

NGOs don’t appear to have these motivations.

Why?  Why don’t they seek out everyone who’s doing similar activities, pool resources, and achieve a greater outcome?

  • Is it just too hard to keep up on what everyone else is doing?
  • Is there an information sharing product needed here?
  • Is it because of differing religious beliefs?

I need to look into this more, but it just seems a little weird to me.

Written by thetyson

October 16, 2008 at 1:36 am

Posted in Adventures, Uganda

Tagged with , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Tyson, this has been an entertaining read so far and am looking forward to more updates. Have you talked to Rehak a lot about this stuff too?

    Jeff Wood

    December 1, 2008 at 3:58 am

  2. Jeff,

    Thanks for the kind words. I hope you are well. Let’s get together before I go back to the motherland.

    Tyson

    thetyson

    December 9, 2008 at 9:48 pm


Leave a Reply

