Pareto Efficient

In search of pareto improvements

My life has changed, a brief update

with one comment

Life is great.  Things are moving quickly, and I’d like to update everyone on where stuff is going.

Firstly, I married a great lady on August 29th on a 4,200 acre ranch in northern Virginia.  If you haven’t met Sarita yet, just take my word for it.  She’s perfect for me.

Secondly, I moved back to Gulu, Uganda to do some stuff here while Sarita continues her work with war-affected girls.  Lately, I’ve been teaching some business classes to the local peeps, starting a pineapple farm and doing some internet consulting for a company in the US.

Thirdly, Sarita and I have rented a house for 800,000 Shillings/mo ($400).  This is not easy in Gulu where NGOs inflate the housing prices to levels rivaling the US.

Fourthly, I have secured a device that delivers internet via MTN cell phone connection.  Its slow, but I can def use when creative inspiration strikes in the middle of the night — which tends to happen to me:)

Fifthly, I’ve rented a 100cc Bajaj motorbike for 40,000 Shillings/wk ($20).  Now, I’m mobile baby and things have been getting weird.

Next, I’ll write more about a few adventures I’ve had lately — drunk elephants, vehicle breakdown in the bush and other life-threatening situations.

Written by thetyson

October 27, 2009 at 10:32 am

Posted in Life

Tagged with , , , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, Great stories! Have you traveled to Juba by air or bus? What was it like. We stayed at the florida hotel in February 2009 – nice place. We are coming in March 2010 – hooking up with some nice folks working with Action International. Just networking and liked your comments. I am with a Prison Ministry and we work with the inmates and the Ugandan Govt.

    Kevin

    Kevin Jones

    December 16, 2009 at 5:26 pm


Leave a Reply

